**Zeitschrift:** Schweizerische mineralogische und petrographische Mitteilungen =

Bulletin suisse de minéralogie et pétrographie

**Band:** 38 (1958)

Heft: 1

Vereinsnachrichten: Report on the Foundation of the International Mineralogical

Association

### Nutzungsbedingungen

Die ETH-Bibliothek ist die Anbieterin der digitalisierten Zeitschriften auf E-Periodica. Sie besitzt keine Urheberrechte an den Zeitschriften und ist nicht verantwortlich für deren Inhalte. Die Rechte liegen in der Regel bei den Herausgebern beziehungsweise den externen Rechteinhabern. Das Veröffentlichen von Bildern in Print- und Online-Publikationen sowie auf Social Media-Kanälen oder Webseiten ist nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber erlaubt. Mehr erfahren

### **Conditions d'utilisation**

L'ETH Library est le fournisseur des revues numérisées. Elle ne détient aucun droit d'auteur sur les revues et n'est pas responsable de leur contenu. En règle générale, les droits sont détenus par les éditeurs ou les détenteurs de droits externes. La reproduction d'images dans des publications imprimées ou en ligne ainsi que sur des canaux de médias sociaux ou des sites web n'est autorisée qu'avec l'accord préalable des détenteurs des droits. En savoir plus

#### Terms of use

The ETH Library is the provider of the digitised journals. It does not own any copyrights to the journals and is not responsible for their content. The rights usually lie with the publishers or the external rights holders. Publishing images in print and online publications, as well as on social media channels or websites, is only permitted with the prior consent of the rights holders. Find out more

**Download PDF:** 18.08.2025

ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, E-Periodica, https://www.e-periodica.ch

# Report on the Foundation of the

# INTERNATIONAL MINERALOGICAL ASSOCIATION

### A. Preliminaries

At a meeting of the *International Union of Crystallography* held in Montreal from July10<sup>th</sup>—20<sup>th</sup>, 1957, delegates from 14 countries (Austria, Belgium Canada, Chile, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.S.S.R., United Kingdom, United States) met on July 16 to consider the desirability of founding an *International Mineralogical Association* (I. M. A.). It was agreed to proceed with this scheme and a provisional committee was elected to carry out the preparatory work and to draft a constitution for the proposed Association. The provisional committee was composed as follows:

Chairman Dr. Claringbull (Great Britain)

Vice-Chairman: Prof. Laves (Germany)
Secretary-Treasurer: Prof. Amoros (Spain)
Councillors: Prof. Berry (Canada)

Dr. Guillemin (France)
Prof. Fornaseri (Italy)
Prof. Wickman (Sweden)
Prof. Grigoriev (U.S.S.R.)
Prof. Buerger (U.S.A.)

On December 10<sup>th</sup> 1957 a first circular was sent by the provisional committee to all mineralogical societies inviting them to send delegates to an *Inaugural Meeting* to be held in the week beginning April 6<sup>th</sup>, 1958 at *Madrid*. The circular also contained the provisional committee's proposals as to what commissions should be set up by the I. M. A. to cope with various problems and difficulties besetting mineralogists in all countries and therefore calling for international co-operation. Circulars with further details of the agenda and programmes of excursions to be carried out before and after the inaugural meeting were sent in February and March 1958 to the various mineralogical societies.

# B. Inaugural Meeting

On Tuesday April 8<sup>th</sup>, 1958 at 10.00 a.m. in the Salon de Juntas of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas in Madrid, delegates from 14 nations assembled for the purpose of formally founding the I. M. A. The meeting was presided over by Professor F. Laves. The following delegates were called and found to be present. (Those whose names are in italics were entitled to vote):

Austria: Dr. A. Preisinger Japan: Prof. T. Ito

Belgium: Dr. R. van Tassel Dr. N. Katayama

Canada: Prof. L. G. Berry Dr. I. Sunagawa

Finland: Prof. T. G. Sahama Netherlands: Prof. F. E. de Wijs

France: Mlle S. Caillère Spain: Prof. J. L. Amoros
Dr. C. Guillemin Prof. V. Aleixandre

Germany: Prof. F. Laves Sweden: Prof. F. E. Wickman

Prof. F. Leutwein Switzerland: Prof. R. L. Parker

Prof. H. Winkler U.S.A.: Prof. M. J. Buerger

Great Britain: Prof. C. E. Tilley Prof. C. Frondel

Dr. N. F. M. Henry U.S.S.R.: Prof. D. P. Grigoriev

Italy: Prof. E. Onorato Prof. Vlassow

Dr. M. Fornaseri

By a unanimous vote of the delegates it was resolved to found the Association and to name it the *International Mineralogical Association*. Its aim shall be to further international co-operation in Mineralogical Science.

The draft statutes and bye-laws prepared and submitted by the interim committee were then discussed in detail and agreed to in amended form. The statutes as finally adopted are appended to this report.

It was suggested by the chairman that commissions be set up to deal with the following subjects: museums, abstracts, new minerals.

The meeting thereupon adjourned.

Dr. G. Fagnani

# C. Bus ness ess n

This session was opened a on Wednesday April 9th, 1958 by Professor Laves who on behalf of the cerim committee presented a list of nominated candidates for the Executive Committee. Further candidates were nominated by delegates. In a ballot the delegates elected the following

## EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE I.M.A.

President: Prof. Parker (Switzerland)

1. Vice-President: Prof. Wickman (Sweden)

2. Vice-President: Prof. Grigoriev (U.S.S.R.)

Secretary:

Prof. Amoros (Spain)

Treasurer:

Prof. Fisher (U.S.A.)

Councillors:

Prof. Orcel (France)

Prof. Onorato (Italy)

Prof. Ito (Japan)

Past President:

This office cannot be filled at present

The newly-elected president then took the chair and conducted elections for the chairmen and secretaries of the three commissions mentioned above and for a fourth to deal with mineral data, the setting up of which had been generally desired. The results of these elections were as follows:

## COMMISSION ON ABSTRACTS

Chairman: Prof. Onorato Secretary: Dr. Henry

COMMISSION ON DATA

Chairman: Prof. Strunz Secretary: Prof. Pabst

COMMISSION ON NEW MINERALS

Chairman: Dr. Fleischer Secretary: Dr. Guillemin

COMMISSION ON MUSEUMS

Chairman: Prof. Frondel Secretary: Prof. Leutwein

The members of the commissions will be elected by the member-societies who may name one representative for each commission. More than one member of a society may be present in a commission if a member of that society is an officer of the commission.

The delegates resolved to fix the value of the "Units" to be paid by each member-society at \$10.— per annum.

### D. Other Sessions

In addition to the sessions mentioned above, four others were held. At these the delegates discussed the following topics: Nomenclature and new minerals; mineralogical museums; mineralogical abstracts; mineral data and publications. A symposium was also held dealing with present and future work in mineralogy, geo-chemistry and petrography. The speakers were: V. Aleixandre, M. Fornaseri, D. P. Grigoriev, T. Ito, F. Laves, A. Preisinger, T. Sahama, A. San Miguel, and C. E. Tilley.

After the inaugural meeting the delegates were offered a Vino de Honor by the C. S. I. C. They were also entertained to a formal dinner at the close

of the Madrid meeting.

Many delegates took part in an excursion from Barcelona to the Costa Brava and in another which included visits to Toledo, the lead mines of Linares, Valdepeñas, Cordoba, and Granada.

Robert L. Parker

Department of Mineralogy Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich