Zeitschrift: Annual report / International Committee of the Red Cross

Herausgeber: International Committee of the Red Cross

Band: - (1983)

Register: International Committee of the Red Cross

Nutzungsbedingungen

Die ETH-Bibliothek ist die Anbieterin der digitalisierten Zeitschriften auf E-Periodica. Sie besitzt keine Urheberrechte an den Zeitschriften und ist nicht verantwortlich für deren Inhalte. Die Rechte liegen in der Regel bei den Herausgebern beziehungsweise den externen Rechteinhabern. Das Veröffentlichen von Bildern in Print- und Online-Publikationen sowie auf Social Media-Kanälen oder Webseiten ist nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber erlaubt. Mehr erfahren

Conditions d'utilisation

L'ETH Library est le fournisseur des revues numérisées. Elle ne détient aucun droit d'auteur sur les revues et n'est pas responsable de leur contenu. En règle générale, les droits sont détenus par les éditeurs ou les détenteurs de droits externes. La reproduction d'images dans des publications imprimées ou en ligne ainsi que sur des canaux de médias sociaux ou des sites web n'est autorisée qu'avec l'accord préalable des détenteurs des droits. En savoir plus

Terms of use

The ETH Library is the provider of the digitised journals. It does not own any copyrights to the journals and is not responsible for their content. The rights usually lie with the publishers or the external rights holders. Publishing images in print and online publications, as well as on social media channels or websites, is only permitted with the prior consent of the rights holders. Find out more

Download PDF: 24.08.2025

ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, E-Periodica, https://www.e-periodica.ch

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE RED CROSS

ASSEMBLY*

- Mr. Alexandre Hay, Lawyer, former Director-General of the Swiss National Bank, *President* (member since 1975, President since 1976)
- Mr. Richard Pestalozzi, Doctor of Laws, former ambassador, Vice-President (1977/1979)
- Mr. Victor H. Umbricht, Doctor of Laws, Managing Director, Vice-President (1970/1983)
- Mrs. Denise Bindschedler-Robert, Doctor of Laws, Professor at the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva, Judge at the European Court of Human Rights (1967)
- Mr. Marcel A. Naville, Master of Arts, ICRC President from 1969 to 1973 (1967)
- Mr. Jacques F. de Rougemont, Doctor of Medicine (1967)
- Mr. Jean Pictet, Doctor of Laws, Associate Professor at the University of Geneva, former Director of the Henry Dunant Institute, Vice-President from 1971 to 1979 (1967)
- Mr. Gilbert Etienne, Professor at the Graduate Institute of International Studies and at the Institute of Development Studies, Geneva (1973)
- Mr. Ulrich Middendorp, Doctor of Medicine, Head of the Surgical Department of the Cantonal Hospital, Winterthur (1973)
- Mrs. Marion Bovée-Rothenbach, Doctor of Sociology (1973)
- Mr. Hans-Peter Tschudi, Doctor of Laws, former Swiss Federal Councillor (1973)
- Mr. Henry Huguenin, Banker (1974)
- Mr. Jakob Burckhardt, Doctor of Laws, former Minister Plenipotentiary, former Chairman of the Council of Federal Polytechnic Schools (1975)
- **Mr.** Thomas Fleiner, Doctor of Laws, Professor at the University of Fribourg (1975)

- Mr. Athos Gallino, Doctor of Medicine, Mayor of Bellinzona (1977)
- Mr. Robert Kohler, Doctor of Economics, Company Chairman (1977)
- Mr. Maurice Aubert, Doctor of Laws, Banker (1979)
- Mr. Rudolf Jäckli, Doctor of Science (1979)
- Mrs. Andrée Weitzel, former head of the Women's Auxiliary Service at the Federal Military Department (1979)
- Mr. Dietrich Schindler, Doctor of Laws, Professor at the University of Zurich, ICRC member from 1961 to 1973, honorary member from 1973 to 1980 (1980)
- Mr. Olivier Long, Doctor of Laws, Professor at the Graduate Institute of International Studies, former Ambassador, former Director-General of GATT (1980)
- Mr. Hans Haug, Doctor of Laws, Professor at the St. Gall School of Advanced Economic and Social Studies, former President of the Swiss Red Cross (1983)

Honorary members: Mrs. Lucie Odier, Honorary Vice-President; Messrs. Hans Bachmann, Roger Gallopin, Mrs. Marguerite Gautier-Van Berchem, Messrs. Harald Huber, Rodolfo Olgiati, Max Petitpierre, Paul Ruegger, Frédéric Siordet, Alfredo Vannotti.

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Messrs. Alexandre Hay, President

Maurice Aubert Athos Gallino Rudolf Jäckli Olivier Long

Richard Pestalozzi

Mrs. Andrée Weitzel

^{*} During its final meeting of the year, held on 7 and 8 December, the ICRC Assembly took leave of four of its members who stepped down either because of their age or because they had not requested to prolong their mandate. They are respectively, Mr. Hans-Peter Tschudi and Mr. Jakob Burckhardt, and Mr. Marcel A. Naville and Mr. Thomas Fleiner. Messrs. Tschudi, Burckhardt and Naville were named honorary members. Furthermore, Mr. Richard Pestalozzi, full-time Vice-President since 1979, resigned his post at the end of the year; he will, however, continue as a member of the Assembly and the Executive Board. Mr. Maurice Aubert was named full-time Vice-President as of 1 January 1984. The Committee also elected a new member, Mr. Peter Arbenz, whose mandate will start at the beginning of 1984.

ADMINISTRATION

DIRECTORATE

Members:

Mr. Jean-Pierre Hocké, Director for Operational Activities

Mr. Jacques Moreillon, Director for General Affairs

Mr. Edmé Regenass, Director for Administrative Affairs

Deputies:

for Operational Activities: Mr. Michel Convers

for General Affairs: Mr. Yves Sandoz

for Administrative Affairs: Mr. Jean-Pierre Maunoir

Operational Activities

Mr. Jean-Pierre Hocké, Director

Mr. Michel Convers and Mr. Philippe Dind, Deputy

Directors

Operations Department

Mr. Michel Convers

Delegate-General for Africa: Mr. Jean-Marc Bornet

Delegate-General for Asia and Oceania: Mr. Jean de Courten

Delegate-General for the Middle East and North Africa:

Mr. Jean Hoefliger

Delegate-General for Latin America and the Caribbean:

Mr. André Pasquier

Acting Delegate-General for Europe and North America:

Mr. Michel Convers

Relief Division: Mr. Andreas Lendorff

Central Tracing Agency

Mr. François Perez

Europe Division: Mr. Nicolas Vecsey

Asia and Latin America Division: Mr. Francis Amar

Africa and Middle East Division: Mrs. Clermonde Dominicé

Medical Division

Dr. Rémi Russbach

International Organizations Division

Mr. Michel Veuthey

CICR BIBLIOTHEQUE



31056

General Affairs

Mr. Jacques Moreillon, DirectorMr. Yves Sandoz, Deputy Director

Principles and Law Department

Mr. Yves Sandoz

National Societies and Principles Division: Mr. Michel Martin

Legal Division: Mr. René Kosirnik

Information Department

Mr. Alain Modoux

Press Division: Mrs. Michèle Mercier

Documentation and Dissemination Division: Mr. André

Tschiffeli

Audiovisual Communication Division: Mr. Jean-Luc Nicollier

Administrative Affairs

Mr. Edmé Regenass, Director

Mr. Jean-Pierre Maunoir, Deputy Director

Mr. Pierre-Alain Vuagniaux, Director-designate for

Administrative Affairs

Personnel Department

Mr. Jean-Claude Hefti

Personnel Administration Division: Mr. Jean-Claude Hefti,

Acting Head

Training Division: Mr. Philippe Grand d'Hauteville

Recruiting Division: Mr. Roger Santschi

Finance and Administration Department

Mr. Etienne Paridant

Financial Management Division: Mr. Etienne Paridant,

Acting Head

Administrative Division: Mr. Tibor Molnarfi

Financing Division

Mr. Serge Nessi

Chief Medical Officer: Dr. Rémi Russbach

Management Control: Mr. François Hohl